PRIME MINISTER'S

VISIT TO SCOTTISH CONSERVATIVE PARTY CONFERENCE, PERTH

Saturday 12th May 1979

0900

DEPART Flood Street for RAF Northolt (Miss Jelley (Garden Room) will join Party at RAF Northolt) Two cars:

Prime Minister Mr Denis Thatcher Barry Strevens

Mr Ian Gow Mr Derek Howe

(Richard Ryder making his own way direct to RAF Northolt Tessa Jardine-Paterson already in Scotland)

0945 TAKE OFF from RAF Northolt (in HS125)

1110 LAND Turnhouse Airport, Edinburgh (VIP pad, RAF side) (031.339.5393)

To be met by:

Graham Macmillan

Director of Scottish Conservative Party

Group Captain John Forteath Station Commander

1200 ARRIVE Station Hotel, Perth (0738.24141)

To be met by the Rt Hon George Younger, MP

Secretary of State Russell Fairgrieve MP Chairman Scottish Conservative Party D S McDermid, Hotel Manager

Photocall

Scottish Members of Government Scottish Members of Parliament

1245 Buffet Lunch as guest of Russell Sanderson,

President of Scottish Conservative and Unionist Association

for 1300

(SEE APPENDIX I)

MPs and wives Office Bearers and wives

(Attendance 60)

1330 Retire to Suite

1450 DEPART Station Hotel for City Hall

1500 Address Rally City Hall, Perth (Tel: 0738 24055) Chairman: Russell Sanderson Vote of Thanks: Russell Fairgriève MP

(Attendance 1800)

- 2 -

1600	RETURN to Station Hotel
	Tea in Suite
1700	Reception given by Russell Sanderson for MPs, Euro Candidates, Office Bearers
	(Attendance 80)

- 1815 DEPART Station Hotel, Perth
- 1915 DEPART Turnhouse Airport, Edinburgh
- 2040 LAND RAF Northolt

Two cars to Chequers

Prime Minister Mr Denis Thatcher Inspector Williams

Miss Jelley

To No 10

Mr Ian Gow Mr Derek Howe Chief Inspector Parker

Richard Ryder departs Northolt in own car

Barry Strevens and Mr Beattie overnight stay Carlisle Crest Motel (Carlislt 31201)

Tessa Jardine-Paterson making own arrangements

APPENDIX I

Lord Thorneycroft, George Younger and Christopher Tugendhat will be speaking to Scottish Conservatives on Saturday morning and will attend the lunch.

MINISTERS AND MP'S ATTENDING RALLY

Scottish Office

Rt. Hon. George Younger, MP James Mackay, QC Rt. Hon. Earl of Mansfield Nicholas Fairbairn, QC, MP Alex Fletcher, MP Russell Fairgrieve, MP Malcolm Rifkind, MP <u>Agriculture</u> Alick Buchanan-Smith, MP <u>Energy</u> Hamish Gray, MP <u>Whip</u> Lord James Douglas-Hamilton, MP

Secretary of State Lord Advocate Minister of State Solicitor General for Scotland Under Secretary of State Under Secretary of State Under Secretary of State

Minister of State

Minister of State

Scottish Whip

MPs Hon. Tom Galbraith, MP Iain Sproat, MP John Corrie, MP Michael Ancram, MP Barry Henderson, MP Barry Henderson, MP Peter Fraser, MP Ian Lang, MP John Mackay, MP Albert McQuarrie, MP David Myles, MP Alex Pollock, MP Allan Stewart, MP William Walker, MP

Hector Monro, MP, will not be present as he will be at Wembley.

PERTH AND EAST PERTHSHIRE

Turnout: 77.31% (+3.5%)

Votes Cast: 48.045

Walker	(Con.)	20,153	(41.9%)	+3.0%
Crawford	(SNP)	17,050	(35.5%)	-5.2%
McKenzie	(Lab)	6,432	(13.4%)	-0.2%
Goudie	(Lib)	4,410	(9.2%)	+2.5%

Con. Majority <u>3,103</u> (6.4%)

4.15% swing from SNP to Con.