PRESS NOTICE

14 September 1981

The Queen has been pleased to approve the following appointments -

Secretary of State for Education and Science

Lord President of the Council

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

Lord Privy Seal

Secretary of State for Industry

Secretary of State for Transport

Secretary of State for Social Services

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Secretary of State for Energy

Secretary of State for Employment

The Right Honourable Sir Keith Joseph. Bt., M.P.

The Right Honourable Francis Pym, M.C., M.P.

The Right Honourable James Prior, M.P.

The Right Honourable Humphrey Atkins, M.P.

The Right Honourable Patrick Jenkin, M.P.

The Right Honourable David Howell, M.I

The Right Honourable Norman Fowler, M.P.

The Baroness Young

The Right Honourable Nigel Lawson, M.P.

Norman Tebbit, Esquire, M.P.

Cecil Parkinson, Esquire, M.P.

All the above will be members of the Cabinet.

Paymaster General

MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE, FISHERIES AND FOOD

Parliamentary Secretary

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Armed Forces Mrs. Peggy Fenner, M.P.

Jerry Wiggin, Esquire, T.D., M.P.

-1-

•

DL. ARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND SCIENCE

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

, (**N** . . .

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Sport)

FOREIGN AND COMMONWEALTH OFFICE

Minister of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SECURITY

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY

Minister of State

NORTHERN IRELAND OFFICE

Minister of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

SCOTTISH OFFICE

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

DEPARTMENT OF TRADE

Minister of State

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State William Shelton, Esquire, M.P.

David Mellor, Esquire, M.P.

Sir George Young, Bt., M.P.

Neil Macfarlane, Esquire, M.P.

Richard Luce, Esquire, M.P. The Lord Trefgarne

The Lord Elton, T.D.

Geoffrey Finsberg, Esquire, M.B.E., M.P.

Norman Lamont, Esquire, M.P.

The Earl of Gowrie Nicholas Scott, Esquire, M.B.E., M.P.

Allan Stewart, Esquire, M.P.

Peter Rees, Esquire, Q.C., M.P. Iain Sproat, Esquire, M.P.

-2-

H.M. TREASURY

Financial Secretary to the Treasury

The Honourable Nicholas Ridley, M.P.

The following Ministers have tendered their resignations:-

The Right Honourable The Lord Soames, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.H., C.B.E

The Right Honourable Sir Ian Gilmour, Bt., M.P.

The Right Honourable Mark Carlisle, Q.C., M.P.

Russell Fairgrieve, Esquire, C.B.E., T.D., M.P.

Philip Goodhart, Esquire, M.P.

Lord President of the Council

Lord Privy Seal

Secretary of State for Education and Science

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Scottish Office

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Armed Forces, Ministry of Defence

Hector Monro, Esquire, M.P.

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Sport), Department of the Environment

An exchange of letters is attached.

Mr. Pym will continue as Leader of the House of Commons and will retain responsibility for Government information.

Lady Young will be Leader of the House of Lords and Minister in day-to-day charge of the Civil Service Department.

Mr. Parkinson will attend meetings of the Cabinet.

The Queen has been pleased to approve that Lady Young, Mr Norman Tebbit and Mr. Cecil Parkinson be sworn of Her Majesty's most honourable Privy Council.

Her Majesty has also been pleased to approve that the honour of knighthood be conferred upon Mr Russell Fairgrieve, Mr Philip Goodhart and Mr Hector Monro.

10 Downing Street Whitehall

14 September 1981