### Prime Minister

- Herewith the result of the elections to our backbench committees so far.
- The remaining elections take place next week.
- We have really done rather well. Tim
  Renton will be a great improvement on
  Nicholas Scott in the Employment Committee.
  William Clark beat off a strong attempt
  by Maurice McMillan and Michael Grylls
  beat of a strong attack by Hal Miller.

No

20.11.81

IAN GOW

### LIST OF BACKBENCH COMMITTEES' ELECTION RESULTS TO 19.11.81

Finance Committee (Elected)

(Unsuccessful)

William Clark

Maurice Macmillan

V.C

Ralph Howell

Anthony Beaumont-Dark

Chris Patten

Michael Morris

Sec.

John Browne

Steven Dorrell

Tim Eggar

Michael Morris

Old Committee: W Clark/R Howell/S Dorrell, T Eggar

0 Industry Committee (Elected)

(Unsuccessful)

Ch.

Michael Grylls

Hal Miller

VC.

Keith Wickenden

Esmond Bulmer Alan Haselhurst

Sec.

John Ward

Old Committee: M Grylls/Keith Wickenden/RichardPage & Richard Sheppard

Defence Committee (Elected) (Unsuccessful)

Ch.

Anthony Buck

Alan Clark

V.C.

Sec.

Winstron Churchill Julian Critchley Victor Goodhew

Robert Atkins David Trippier

Neil Thorne

Bill Walker

Neville Trotter

Old Committee: A Buck/W Churchill, V Goodhew, Alan Clark/J Wilkinson, D

Trippier

Trade & Consumer Affairs (Elected) (Unsuccessful)

Ch.

Anthony Grant

V.C.

R Squire

Bowen Wells

Sec.

Teddy Taylor Steven Dorrell

Anthony Marlow

Old Committee A Grant/R Squire, B Wells/K Carlisle, A Marlow

Employment (Elected)

Ch. Tim Renton

V.C. Richard Needham Ray Whitney

Sec. Mark Wolfson

Old Committee: No Chairman/D. Madel, Ray Whitney/P Lloyd, R Needham

(Unsuccessful)

Michael Shaw

(8) Environment

Ch. Tony Durant

V.C. Michael Latham Michael Shersby

Sec. Den Dover John Heddle

Unchanged and Uncontested

Transport

Ch. Terrence Higgins

V.C. Robert Adley Roger Moat

Sec. Matthew Parris

Old Committee: as above except for G Neale who was a second Secretary Uncontested

9 Constitutional

Ch. Charles Morrison

V.C. William Benyon Lord Cranborne

Sec. Nicholas Bonsor

Lord James Douglas Hamilton

Old Committee: as above, but Lord James Douglas Hamilton is a new addition Uncontested

Smaller Businesses

Ch. John Loveridge

V.C Graham Bright Michael Colvin

Sec. Tony Speller

Old Committee: J Loveridge/Graham Bright, Richard Page/Michael Colvin

# 3 Scottish Committee

Ch. John Corrie

V.C Barry Henderson

Sec. John MacKay

Old Committee: Iain Sproat/Barry Henderson/P Fraser

### European Affairs Committee

Ch. George Gardiner

V.C. Anthony Myer B Walker

Sec. David Myles

Old Committee: George Gardiner/P Lloyd, Ray Whitney/Richard Page

### Greater London Area

Ch. John Hunt

V.C. Harry Greenway Neil Thorne

Sec. Martin Stevens John Wheeler

Unchanged and uncontested

### LIST OF BACKBENCH COMMITTEES (Continued) AS AT 1.12.81



### Agriculture

Ch. Peter Mills

V.C. John Farr Colin Shepherd

Sec. David Myles John Spence

# West Country

Ch. John Hannam

V.C. John Aspinwall Tony Speller

Sec. Michael Colvin

### Aviation

Ch. Cranley Onslow

V.C. Michael Colvin

Sec. Robert Atkins Graham Bright



### Foreign & Commonwealth

Ch. Ray Whitney

V.C. John Biggs-Davison Nicholas Bonsor

Sec. Peter Temple-Morris Vivian Bendall

# (1)

### Health & Social Security

Ch. Paul Dean

V.C. Jill Knight Robert McCrindle

Sec. Tom Benyon Jim Pawsey

### Tourism

Ch. Billy Rees-Davies

V.C. Nicholas Bonsor

Sec. David Bevan

# 4

### Home Affairs

Ch. Edward Gardner

V.C. Michael Mates Ivor Stanbrook

Sec. Alan Clark John Wheeler

#### Welsh

Ch. R Gowan

V.C. Anthony Myer

Sec. Delwyn Williams



### Education

C. William van Straubenzee

V.C. Alan Haselhurst David Madel

Sec. Harry Greenway Jim Pawsey

### Legal

Ch. Charles Fletcher-Cooke

V.C. Ivor Lawrence

Sec.

## Urban Affairs & New Towns

Ch. Anthony Steen

V.C. Christopher Murphy John Wheeler

Sec. Den Dover David Bevan

### Media

Ch. Geoffrey Johnson-Smith

V.C. Tim Brinton

Sec.

### Art & Heritage

Ch. Patrick Cormack

V.C. Toby Jessel Christopher Murphy

Sec. John Blackburn Richard Alexander



### Energy

Ch. John Hannam

V.C. Geoffrey Johnson-Smith Michael Morris

Sec.

### Shipping & Shipbuilding

Ch. Neville Trotter

V.C. Sir David Price

Sec.

### Sports & Recreation

Ch. John Carlisle

V.C. Nicholas Winterton

Sec. Delwyn Williams



### Northern Ireland

Ch. Sir John Biggs-Davison

V.C. Bill Benyon Ivor Stanbrook

Sec. Brian Mawhinney Michael Brown