

10 DOWNING STREET

Press Notice

MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

The Queen has been pleased to approve the following appointments:-

Lord President of the Council The Right Honourable William Whitelaw, CH, MC, MP

Secretary of State for The Right Honourable Sir Geoffrey Howe, QC, MP

Secretary of State for The Right Honourable Leon Brittan, the Home Department QC, MP

Chancellor of the Exchequer

The Right Honourable Nigel Lawson, MP

Secretary of State for The Right Honourable Peter Walker, MBE, MP

Secretary of State for The Right Honourable Patrick the Environment Jenkin, MP

Lord Privy Seal The Right Honourable John Biffen, MP

Secretary of State for Trade and Industry

The Right Honourable Cecil Parkinson, MP

Chancellor of the Duchy The Right Honourable The Lord of Lancaster Cockfield

Secretary of State for The Right Honourable Tom King, MP Transport

Minister of Agriculture, The Right Honourable Michael Jopling, MP

Chief Secretary to the Peter Rees, Esquire, QC, MP Treasury

The above Ministers will be members of the Cabinet.

Parliamentary Secretary to V John Wakeham, Esquire, FCA, MP the Treasury

The Right Honourable Francis Pym, MC, MP, and The Right
Honourable David Howell, MP, have tendered their resignations as,
respectively, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth
Affairs and Secretary of State for Transport.

11 June 1983

NOTES FOR EDITORS

A list of all the members of the Cabinet is attached.

Mr Whitelaw will be Leader of the House of Lords. The Queen has been pleased to approve that the dignity of a Viscountcy of the United Kingdom be conferred on him.

Mr Biffen will be Leader of the House of Commons.

As Secretary of State for Trade and Industry, Mr Parkinson will be in charge of a Department of Trade and Industry which will be responsible for the functions of the present Department of Industry and the commercial relations and trade functions of the present Department of Trade. The regulatory functions of the Department of Trade - including responsibility for consumer affairs, company law, companies registration, competition policy, the insolvency service, insurance, and the Patent Office - together with certain regulatory responsibilities previously intended to be discharged by the Department of Industry in the field of telecommunications and by the Home Office in the field of radio frequency regulation, will be brought together in an office which will report to a Minister for Corporate and Consumer Affairs under the direction of the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry. Responsibility for the work of the civil aviation and shipping divisions of the present Department of Trade will be assigned to the Secretary of State for Transport.

Transfer of Functions Orders will be laid before Parliament as required.

The Queen has been pleased to approve that Mr Wakeham be sworn of Her Majesty's most honourable Privy Council.

The Cabinet

Ti Winister Direct Lond of the		The D+ Her Margaret Thatcher MD
Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service		The Rt Hon Margaret Thatcher MP
Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Lords	V	The Rt Hon William Whitelaw CH MC MP
Lord Chancellor	1	The Rt Hon The Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone CH
Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs	~	The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Howe QC MP
Secretary of State for the Home Department		The Rt Hon Leon Brittan QC MP
Chancellor of the Exchequer	V	The Rt Hon Nigel Lawson MP
Secretary of State for Education and Science	V	The Rt Hon Sir Keith Joseph Bt MP
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland	X	The Rt Hon James Prior MP
Secretary of State for Energy	*	The Rt Hon Peter Walker MBE MP
Secretary of State for Defence	1	The Rt Hon Michael Heseltine MP
Secretary of State for Scotland		The Rt Hon George Younger TD MP
Secretary of State for Wales	v	The Rt Hon Nicholas Edwards MP
Secretary of State for the Environment	1	The Rt Hon Patrick Jenkin MP
Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of Commons	-	The Rt Hon John Biffen MP
Secretary of State for Social Services		The Rt Hon Norman Fowler MP
Secretary of State for Employment	V	The Rt Hon Norman Tebbit MP
Secretary of State for Trade and Industry	×	The Rt Hon Cecil Parkinson MP
Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster	×	The Rt Hon The Lord Cockfield
Secretary of State for Transport	V	The Rt Hon Tom King MP
Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food	V	The Rt Hon Michael Jopling MP
Chief Secretary to the Treasury	V	Peter Rees, Esquire, QC MP